Groenewald Leads Nuna Team at Age Champs

DEL_5868Nunawading Swimming Club’s Nic Groenewald has completed an outstanding meet at the Australian Age Swimming Championships which finished in Brisbane last week.

Groenewald won six gold medals and one bronze medal in individual events and was a part of relay teams that also won one silver and one bronze medal.  He was named Australian Champion in the 14 years 100m & 200m Backstroke, 100m & 200m Breaststroke and the 200m & 400m Individual Medley and won bronze in the 14 years 100m Butterfly.  He also broke Ian Thorpe’s Australian Age record in the 200m Individual Medley and his own Australian Age record in the 100m Backstroke.

Groenewald has now won a staggering 17 gold medals at the Australian Age Championships over the last three years, including setting eight Australian Age group records.

Following the 200m IM swim Groenewald said “I know a lot of people around the world including myself think that he (Thorpe) is one of the biggest swimming inspirations ever and to break one of his records is a huge achievement for me, and really motivating to keep going and keep striving for better and better things.”

“I remember watching him swim in 2004 on TV (at the Athens Olympics) thinking that I want to meet him one day and I finally did get to talk to him at Trials this year and that was a huge thing for me.”

The Club also had a number of other stars with Mikayla Smith winning silver in the Girls 12-13 years 100m Breaststroke and bronze in the 200m Breaststroke and Eliza Ham winning silver in the Girls 15 years 200m Individual Medley and 400m Freestyle.

The Boys 14/under 4 x 50 Medley Relay team of Nic Groenewald, Adam Wildes, Joel Watson and James Li won silver and the Boys 16/under 4 x 100 Medley Relay team of Nic Groenewald, Liam Fisk, Joel Watson and Elijah Martin won bronze.

Other finalists at the meet were Alanis Olesch-Byrne (100 & 200 Backstroke and 100 Butterfly), Liam Fisk (200 Breaststroke and 200 & 400 IM), Eliza Ham (800 Freestyle & 100 Backstroke), Kate Laidlaw (400 & 800 Freestyle), Meg Parry (400 & 800 Freestyle), Joel Watson (100 Butterfly & 200 IM), Mikayla Smith (200 & 400 IM), Stephanie Moore (100 & 200 Breaststroke), Adam Wildes (200 Breaststroke), Nic Groenewald (100 Freestyle), Elly-Rose Martin (50 Freestyle), James Li (50 Freestyle) and Daniel Perry (400 IM).

The Club finished a very credible 4th place on the Australian Club Pointscore at the meet.

, , , , ,