Sutherland Trophies

John Sutherland Trophy for Males and Margaret Sutherland Trophy for Females

2016/17 Sutherland Trophy winner Josh Beaver and Belinda Hocking

The Sutherland Trophies were instigated during the 1978/1979 season. At that time it was recognised that the demands of training and competition at top level make it difficult for older swimmers to participate in many other club activities and at times their outstanding achievements in swimming were not being adequately recognised.

Originally these awards were known as the ‘Top Swimmer Awards’ for males and females. They are now known as the John Sutherland Trophy for males and the Margaret Sutherland Trophy for females. Margaret Sutherland was the original driving force behind the Learn to Swim program at Nunawading.

The Sutherland trophies are awarded to the male and female who achieve the best swimming performance according to the most current FINA international point score.
Swimmers must be 17 years or over at 1st May from the previous year and swims must be achieved at an official FINA sanctioned long course meet in an Olympic event.

Originally the awards were presented to swimmers aged 14 and over.
In the 2006/07 season the age criteria for the trophies was changed to it’s current criteria.

Sutherland Trophy Winners

John Sutherland Trophy for Males Margaret Sutherland Trophy for Females
Year awarded
Winner Winner
2016/17 Joshua Beaver Belinda Hocking
2015/16 Joshua Beaver Belinda Hocking
2014/15 Ashley Delaney Belinda Hocking
2013/14 Ashley Delaney Belinda Hocking
2012/13 Ashley Delaney Belinda Hocking
2011/12 Ashley Delaney  Ellen Gandy
2010/11 Ashley Delaney  Leisel Jones
2009/10 Ashley Delaney  Leisel Jones
2008/09 Ashley Delaney  Leisel Jones
2007/08 Ashley Delaney  Brooke Hanson
2006/07 Ashley Delaney  Brooke Hanson


Sutherland Trophy winners 2005/06 and prior

John Sutherland Trophy for Males Margaret Sutherland Trophy for Females
Year Awarded
Winner Winner
2005/06 Jason Cohen  Brooke Hanson
2004/05 Jason Cohen  Brooke Hanson
2003/04 Jason Cohen  Brooke Hanson
2002/03 Jason Cohen  Brooke Hanson
2001/02 Jason Cohen  Brooke Hanson
2000/01 Stephen Goudie Brooke Hanson
1999/00 Adrian Radley  Kellie McMillan
1998/99 Adrian Radley  Brooke Hanson
1997/98 Adrian Radley  Brooke Hanson
1996/97 Adrian Radley  Brooke Hanson
1995/96 Adrian Radley  Rebecca Starkey
1994/95 Rod Lawson Megan Davis
1993/94 Rod Lawson Megan Davis
1992/93 Rod Lawson Megan Davis
1991/92 Rod Lawson Julie-Ann Roberts
1991/90 Rod Lawson Emma Leatham
1989/90 Rod Lawson Bronwyn King
1988/89 Rod Lawson Debbie Mason
1987/88 Lachlan Burns  Megan Davis
1986/87 Lachlan Burns  Deanne Davis
1985/86 Lachlan Burns  Sue Condon
1984/85 John Andrews  Danielle Laws-Herd