2018 Victorian Open Championships

The 2018 Victorian Open Championships saw some of Australia’s best swimmers go head to head at MSAC, over the weekend.

The three-day competition boasted a line-up of Olympic and Paralympic stars and provided vital race practice in the lead up to the Commonwealth Games Swimming trials to be held in February.

Nunawading Club Captain Jess Hansen

This line-up included Nunawading’s own Paralympian Madeleine Scott who secured a whopping five gold medals in the woman’s 100m Butterfly, 50m Breaststroke, 50m Butterfly, 100m Breaststroke and 200m Individual Medley.

Another standout performer was breaststroke queen, Jess Hansen. Jess showcased her superb form by taking home gold in both the woman’s 50m and 200m breaststroke. In both events Jess finished ahead of Olympian’s Taylor McKeown and Georgia Bohl, a great result for Jess heading into the Commonwealth Games Trials.

Other highlights included Sophie Caldwell winning the women’s 1500m freestyle by a massive 33.01 seconds ahead of her next competitor, and Bowen Gough who fought to the finish in the men’s 200m butterfly to take out the gold medal by just 0.23 of a second!

Nunawading athletes displayed great depth throughout the meet, with the team finishing third in the overall point score. This point score combined with Nunawading’s point score achieved at the 2018 Victorian Age Championships saw Nunawading awarded the Victorian Premier Club for the 2018 season.

Well done to all Nunawading swimmers who competed and a big thank you to the coaches, team managers, officials and timekeepers for their support of the team throughout the meet.

Go Nuna!

A full list of medal winners from the meet can be found below with complete results from the meet available HERE.



Bowen Gough – Men 200 Butterfly

Sophie Caldwell – Women 1500 Freestyle

Madeleine Scott – Women 100 Butterfly, 50 Breaststroke, 50 Butterfly, 100 Breaststroke, 200 IM Multi Class

Jess Hansen – Women 100 Breaststroke, 50 Breaststroke

Mixed 4×50 Medley Relay – Andrew Rice, Jessica Hansen, Matthew Temple, Julia Hawkins


Sophie Caldwell – Women 800 Freestyle

Matthew Temple – Men 100 Butterfly

Mixed 4×50 Freestyle relay – Matthew Temple, Andrew Rice, Sam Wilkins, Julia Hawkins

Men 4×100 Medley Relay – Andrew Rice, Kazimir Boskovic, Bowen Gough, Matthew Temple

Women 4×100 Freestyle Relay – Julia Hawkins, Kayla Costa, Sophie Caldwell, Sam Wilkins

Men 4×200 Freestyle Relay – Kazimir Boskovic, Matthew Temple, James McBride, Bowen Gough

Women 4×200 Freestyle Relay – Molly Batchelor, Kayla Costa, Julia Hawkins, Sophie Caldwell


Bowen Gough – Men 100 Butterfly

Other Finalists included:

Kazimir Boskovic, Molly Batchelor, Kayla Costa, Mikayla Smith, Anna Li, Keilani Trewavis, Alex Kirchner, Josh Hargreaves, Joseph Sinclair, Elliot Rogerson, Taegen Coxhill, Hayden Llewellyn, Kate Brooks, Jack Gurrie, Jemma Jones, Ella Donoghue, Ben Gough, Sam Willgoose