2017 Victorian Sprint Championships

Nunawading’s swimmers had a great weekend of racing at the 2017 Victorian Sprint Championships, held at MSAC.  Nuna athletes from Junior, State Age, State Youth, National Age Development and National Red squads revelled in the opportunity to race some of Victoria’s best swimmers, with many new PB’s achieved and plenty of finals swims. At the conclusion of the meet, the Nunawading team came away with 22 individual medals, 1 relay medal, 41 finalists and 63 finals swims.

Special mention to the following individual Medalists of the meet: Anais Johnstone, Une Geisler, Tak Heo, Yanning Zhang, Nick Wu, Alex Kirchner, Hayden Llewellyn, Isabella Walkenhorst, Brendan Smith, Reidel Smith and Asaph Hoi. With our Boys 16/u 5×50 Free Relay A Team taking home a silver; well done to Alex, Hayden, Anthony, Nick and Asaph!

Well done to all athletes and a special thank you to all those who volunteered as time keepers and our Team Managers!


  • Brendan Smith – Boys 17-18yrs 50m Fly Gold & 50m Back Gold.
  • Alex Kirchner – Boys 15yrs 50m Free Gold & 50m Back Gold.
  • Yanning Zhang – Boys 13yrs 50m Brst Silver, 50m Fly Silver & 50m Back Silver.
  • Hayden Llewellyn – Boys 15yrs 50m Free Silver, 50m Back Silver & 50m Fly Silver.
  • Une Geisler – Boys 11/u 50m Free Bronze, 50m Brst Gold & 50m Fly Gold.
  • Nick Wu – Boys 14yrs 50m Fly Silver & 50m Brst Bronze.
  • Anais Johnstone – Girls 11/u 50m Free Bronze & 50m Fly Silver.
  • Tak Heo – Boys 12yrs 50m Back Bronze & 50m Fly Bronze.
  • Reidel Smith – Girls 15yrs 50m Brst Silver.
  • Asaph Hoi – 15yrs 50m Brst Silver.
  • Isabella Walkenhorst – Girls 12yrs 50m Brst Bronze.
  • Boys 16/u 5×50 Freestyle Relay A Team Silver (Alex Kirchner, Hayden Llewellyn, Anthony Lin, Nick Wu and Asaph Hoi)

Finalists (including relays):

Emma Allemand, Zali Beck, Isabella Boyd, Cade Cavanagh, Susan Chan, Ernest Chow, Riley Collins, Blake Crichton, Madison Daniels, Morgan Dendle, Zac Dendle, Nicholas Farrar (Relay), Une Geisler, Ethan Gooi, Jack Gurrie, Abby Harrington, Merryn Harris, Tak Heo, Asaph Hoi, Anais Johnstone, Alex Kirchner, Anthony Lin, Hayden Llewellyn, Jason Llewellyn, Isabella Mead (Relay), Emma Meehan (Relay), Isabella Missen (Relay), Cherise Ncube, Tayah O’Dell (Relay), William Petric, Melissa Sharp, Brendan Smith, Reidel Smith, Isabella Walkenhorst, Misha Wierzbowski, Imogen Worthy, Nicholas Wu, Hannah Yao, Yanning Zhang, Justin Zou & Vivian Zou.