2017 Victorian Open Championships

The 2017 Victorian Open Championships were held at MSAC over the weekend.

The Championships showcased some of Australia’s best athletes which was a great chance to gain some vital racing as part of their preparation in the lead up to the World Championship trials to be held in April.

Nunawading athletes displayed great depth throughout the meet, with the team taking out the overall point score at the conclusion of the meet.

Paralympian and now Nunawading’s own Madeleine Scott was a stand out at the meet claiming 5 Gold medals in the Multi Class events. Madeleine, who has recently moved down from the AIS program in Canberra to swim under coach Scott Talbot proved she was a force to be reckoned with.

Nunawading’s Josh Beaver pictured with Swimming Victoria’s President Paul Malcolm

After a massive 2016, Olympian Josh Beaver proved his dominance in the Backstroke events claiming the trifecta. In the 200 Backstroke Josh finished in a time of 1:59.89 almost 3 seconds ahead of his nearest opponent. To top off a great weekend Josh also took out Male swimmer of the meet, a fantastic way to kick off 2017. Josh will now focus his attention to his preparations for the World Championship trials.

Jessica Hansen showed she was in fine form taking out both the womens 50 and 100 Breaststroke titles and securing the Silver medal in the 200 Breaststroke, just behind Olympian Taylor McKeown.

Other highlights included Alex Kirchner winning the 100 Backstroke Multi Class and securing Silver in the 50 Backstroke, and young gun Sophie Caldwell who also had a fantastic open meet claiming 3 silver medals in the 400IM, 800 and 1500 Freestyle events.

Attention now moves to preparations for the National Open and Age Championships being held in Brisbane in April.

A full list of medal winners from the meet can be found below with complete results from the meet available HERE.
Photos from the Championships are available on the Nunawading Facebook page.

Well done to all Nunawading swimmers who competed in the meet and a big thank you to the coaches, team managers, officials and timekeepers for their support of the team throughout the meet.

Go Nuna!

Madeleine Scott – Women 100 Butterfly, 50 Breaststroke, 50 Butterfly, 100 Breaststroke, 200 IM Multi Class
Jessica Hansen – Women 100 Breaststroke, 50 Breaststroke
Josh Beaver – Men 50, 200, 100 Backstroke
Kazimir Boskovic – Mens 200 IM
Alex Kirchner – Men 100 Backstroke Multi Class
Mixed 4×50 Medley Relay – Josh Beaver, Jessica Hansen, Kayla Costa, Caiden Gill


Alex Kirchner – Men 50 Backstroke Multi Class
Bowen Gough – Mens 200 Butterfly
Sophie Caldwell – 400 IM, 1500, 800 Freestyle
Jessica Hansen – 200 Breaststroke
Kazimir Boskovic – Mens 400 IM
Mixed 4×50 Freestyle relay – Caiden Gill, Andrew Rice, Molly Batchelor, Julia Hawkins
Men 4×100 Medley Relay – Josh Beaver, Kazimir Boskovic, Bowen Gough, Caiden Gill
Women 4×100 Medley Relay – Sam Wilkins, Jessica Hansen, Kayla Costa, Julia Hawkins
Men 4×200 Freestyle Relay – Kazimir Boskovic, Josh Beaver, Matthew Temple, Bowen Gough
Women 4×100 Freestyle Relay – Kayla Costa, Samantha Wilkins, Julia Hawkins, Sophie Caldwell


Samantha Wilkins – Womens 400 IM
Samuel Greatorex – Mens 800 Freestyle
Bowen Gough – Men 200 Backstroke, 100 Butterfly
Caiden Gill – Men 50 Freestyle
Men 4×100 Free Relay – Kazimir Boskovic, Andrew Rice, Matthew Temple, Caiden Gill

Other Finalists included:
Brendon Smith, Elliot Rogerson, Taegen Coxhill, Matthew Temple, Nathan Tran, Mikayla Smith, Katherine Brooks, Tayah O’Dell, Keilani Trewavis, Rosemary Addison, Shino Walsh, Ella Donoghue, Josh Hargreaves, Hamed Afshin Azar, Daniel Perry, Adam Wildes, Sean Blackley, Anna Li, Stephanie Moore, Ruby Pewtress, Sam Willgoose, Kayla Costa and Julia Hawkins.