2017 Tassie State Champs


Over the long weekend 27 athletes, supported by 3 coaches and 2 team managers traveled to Hobart to compete in the 2017 Tasmanian State Championships.
The Tasmanian State Championships, a long time fixture on the Nunawading calendar, provides athletes with the opportunity to race heats and finals, achieve personal bests, qualify for nationals, achieve additional national qualifying times and to come together as a team leading into the Georgina Hope Australian Age Championships in April.

All Nuna athletes who attended the Tassie State Championships were able to produce personal best performances over the weekend, approaching each swim with a great attitude and desire to challenge themselves and their team mates, whilst supporting each other throughout the meet.

A list of medalists from the meet is listed below with full results available HERE

Congratulations to Jemma Jones, Melissa Sharp and Madi Daniels who achieved their very first (and in some cases second) qualifying times for Age Nationals at the meet.

Congratulations also to Ruby Pewtress, Yanning Zhang, Zali Beck, Morgan Dendle, Zac Dendle, Anna Li, Jade Hutchinson, Anthony Ngo, Lily Hall, Sam Willgoose and James McBride who achieved additional Age National times.

A huge thank you to team managers Jane Donoghue and John Wildes for volunteering their time to support the coaches and athletes, our club couldn’t offer these opportunities to our members without you.

Thank you also to officials Greg Langford and Mark Laidlaw who traveled to Tasmanian to officiate at the Championships. Your dedication to our sport is greatly appreciated and we thank you for all the time you donate, ensuring our athletes and coaches have the best possible support.

And of course, thank you to Coaches Mel Klamt, Sarah Scott and Dean Bryant for their work with the athletes at, and leading up to, the meet to ensure each and every athlete could perform at their very best. And also to Mel for keeping everyone updated and providing photos over the weekend via the Facebook page. If you haven’t already, make sure you check out the page.

The focus for these athletes now turns to the Australian Age Championships being held in Brisbane in just over a month. Well done to all those that competed at the meet and we look forward to more great results in Brisbane

Anna Li– 14-15yrs 400IM, 200IM, Open 200 brst
Anthony Ngo– 12-13yrs 400IM, 200 brst, 200IM, 100 brst
Dylan Knight– 16-18yrs 1500 free, 200 free, Open 100 fly
Ella Donoghue– 16-18yrs 200 back
Elliot Rogerson– 16-18yrs 200 back
Hamed Afshin Azar– 16-18yrs 400IM, 100 fly, 200IM, 100 back, 200 fly
Hayden Llewellyn– 14-15yrs 200 back, 100 back
James McBride– 14-15yrs 400IM, Open 200 free
Lily Hall– Open 100 free, 100 fly, 50 free, 14-15yrs 100 free, 200 fly
Nathan Tran– 14-15yrs 200IM, 100 fly, 200 fly
Ronan Keating– Open 200 back
Sam Willgoose– Open 50 back, 100 back
Thomas Ikotin– 14-15yrs 200 brst
Tayah O’Dell– 14-15yrs 200 brst
Yanning Zhang– 12-13yrs 100 back
Zac Dendle– 12-13yrs 200 back
Zali Beck– 12-13yrs 200 brst

Anthony Ngo– 12-13yrs 200 back
Asaph Hoi– 14-15yrs 200 brst
Dylan Knight– 16-18yrs 100 fly
Ella Donoghue– 16-18yrs 800 free, Open 100 back
Elliot Rogerson– 16-18yrs 400IM, 200 free, 200 fly
Ethan Bird– 14-15yrs 200 back
Hayden Llewellyn– Open 200 back
James McBride– 14-15yrs 200IM, 200 fly
Jemma Jones– 12-13yrs 100 free
Melissa Sharp– 14-15yrs 400IM
Morgan Dendle– 16-18yrs 200 brst
Nathan Tran-14-15yrs 400IM, 100 back
Reidel Smith– 14-15yrs 200 brst
Ruby Pewtress– Open 200 free
Sam Willgoose– 16-18yrs 100 back
Sean Blackley– 16-18yrs 200 back
Shino Walsh– 16-18yrs 100 back, Open 200 fly
Tayah O’Dell– 14-15yrs 100 brst
Thomas Ikotin– 14-15yrs 100 brst
Yanning Zhang– 12-13yrs 200 brst, 100 brst
Zac Dendle– 12-13yrs 100 back
Zali Beck– 12-13yrs 100 brst

Anthony Lin– 14-15yrs 200 brst
Anthony Ngo– 12-13yrs 100 fly
Hamed Afshin Azar– 16-18yrs 100 free, 100 brst
Jack Gurrie– 14-15yrs 400IM
James McBride– 14-15yrs 100 fly
Melissa Sharp– 14-15yrs 100 back
Morgan Dendle– Open 200 brst
Nathan Tran– 14-15yrs 100 brst, 200 back
Reidel Smith– 14-15yrs 400IM
Ronan Keating– 16-18yrs 400IM, Open 100 back
Ruby Pewtress– Open 200 back
Sam Willgoose– Open 200 back
Shino Walsh– 16-18yrs 200 back
Yanning Zhang– 12-13yrs 200IM