2017 Swimming Victoria Awards

The 2017 Swimming Victoria awards were held on Sunday 23rd July with Nunawading taking out a number of the major awards.

Nunawading was awarded both the Male and Female Victorian Premier award and took out the number one Club in the Top 10 Club award for combined results at Age and Open State Championships.
The club was also awarded the The Fred Blunt Trophy which is awarded to the Premier Club attaining the Highest Combined Aggregate point score at the Victorian Open Championships as well as the V.A.S.A Relay Trophy with the club scoring the highest aggregate points in relay events at the Victorian Open Championships.

Nunawading swimmer Molly Batchelor was awarded the Female Herald Sun News Pictorial Award for the highest ranked 18/Under female swimmer for the season. Sophie Caldwell won the VWASA award for attaining the Highest Aggregate Point score in freestyle events at the Victorian Open Championships and retired Nunawading swimmer Belinda Hocking took out the H.A Bennett trophy as backstroker of the year for her performances at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Our coaches were also recognised for their achievements with Head Coach Dean Bryant awarded the Victorian Age Group Coach of the year as well as the Victorian Open coach of the year. High Performance Coach Scott Talbot was presented with the Jim O’Doherty Award for the Victorian Age Group coaching Achievement at Australian Age, and National Age Development Coach Sarah Scott was awarded a Victorian Age Group Special Coaching Achievement award at Australian Age and MC Age Championships.

Former High Performance coach Rohan Taylor was also recognised for being selected onto an Australian Team and placing a swimmer on a major Australian Team.

The awards finish off a great 2016/17 for the Nunawading team with fantastic results at a National, State and District level.

A full list of award winners from the evening can be found HERE