2017 Presentation Night

Nunawading Swimming Club’s annual Presentation Night was held Saturday 20th May.

It was a great night celebrating the club’s achievements over the past 12 months.

There were two very special awards presented on the night. Chris Hanlen and Melissa Klamt were both awarded with a Life Membership for their outstanding services, tireless effort and contributions to the club. Congratulations Chris and Mel.

Performance Awards

Joshua Beaver and Belinda Hocking took home the clubs top performance awards, with Bindy claiming the Margaret Sutherland trophy for Girls for her 200m backstroke swim at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, with a time of 2:07.83, and Josh awarded the equivalent John Sutherland Trophy for Boys as the most outstanding male swimmer aged 17 and over. He won the award for his 53.47sec swim in the 100m backstroke event also at the Rio Olympic Games.

The Graeme and Helen Wooles trophies, awarded to the most outstanding Male and Female swimmers aged 14-16 years were won by Matthew Temple and Molly Batchelor following their terrific performances in the 100m butterfly and 400m freestyle respectively, at the recent Australian Age Championships in Brisbane.

In the 13 years and under category, Alex Kirchner claimed the Meyer trophy for Boys for his 100m backstroke swim at the 2017 Australian Age Championships and Reidel Smith the Houghton trophy for Girls for her 2:39.26 swim in the 200m breaststroke also at the Australian Age Championships.

The future stars of the Nunawading Swimming Club were also celebrated with Jamison Morgan and Justin Zou both claiming the Ursula Rauter trophy for the most outstanding 11 years and under Boy, the duel winners both claiming a bronze medal and placing 6th at the 2017 Victorian Long Course Championships. Andrea Chow took out the Liz Clarke trophy for the second year in a row for most outstanding 11 years and under Girl at the 2017 Victorian Age Championships.

Madeleine Scott won the Anne Currie Multi-Class swimmer of the year award for her performances at the 2017 Australian Championships, and long-time member Nerice Smith was again presented with the Open water award.

Major Club Awards

The major Club Awards for the season, the Butler trophies, were awarded to Mikayla Smith and Joshua Beaver for their leadership qualities, sportsmanship, swimming ability and participation in club activitiesThe 15 years and under equivalent, the Caune trophy for Girls and Nugent trophy for Boys, were awarded to Keilani Trewavis and Brendon Smith.

The Club also awarded the David Cook PB Challenge awards, Coach Encouragement awards, and a number of volunteer awards.

Service Awards

10 year service awards were presented to a number of current and former swimmers and staff, a 20 year award was presented to former swimmer and Club Captain Shane Asbury, and two 30 year awards were presented to retired officials Ted Whelan and Ray Davis.

A full list of all award winners can be found on the website.

Throughout the evening the Club also thanked and bid farewell to coach Clare Stafford, and also congratulated team members Joshua Beaver, Jessica Hansen and coach Scott Talbot for their selection onto the 2017 FINA World Championships team, as well as Madeleine Scott onto the IPC World Championships team. A number of swimmers were also recognised for their selection onto Junior Australian teams. Molly Batchelor and Kayla Costa onto the World Junior team, Sophie Caldwell along with coach Dean Bryant onto the Commonwealth Youth Games team, and Alex Kirchner and coach Mel Klamt onto the Deaflympics team.

The Keating family once again put together a great video and live performance reflecting on the 2016/17 season.  The video will be available for download in the coming days.

Photos from the night are available to view and download at Smug Mug.

You will need to enter the password NunaSwimming

Thank you to everyone who assisted in the running of the evening and making the night such a success.